AGM Results - Your Elouera Team For 2023 – 2024

Tuesday 15 August 2023

By Tim Benson Elouera Board Member and Director of Marketing

Around 100 members and guests recently attended the Elouera SLSC Annual General Meeting to elect the board members and nominate for club officer positions (listed below) for 2023-2024.

Brian Thompson OAM, Elouera Life Member, was reappointed club patron and the meeting recognised the significant ongoing support of the Tradies and that this year will mark 40 years of ongoing support.

Brian Thompson OAM, Patron and Life Member, Elouera Surf Life Saving Club.

The club kicked some great goals in 2022-2023 culminating in Elouera being recognised as Sydney Surf Life Saving Club of the Year.
Other achievements included:

  • Rescue of the Year: Patrol 8/North Cronulla mass rescue.
  • Surf Lifesaver of the Year: David Kowald.
  • Support Operations Member of the Year: Michael Byrne.
  • National Emergency Medal: Brett Richardson.
  • Pink Patrol: highlighting the contribution of women members to the club
  • Bate Bay Patrol Efficiency Award: Elouera SLSC.

Surf Life Saving Sydney Awards of Excellence. Elouera SLSC Board representatives: Sam Merchant, Director of Youth, Andrew McKellar, Director of Life Saving, Alyson Scott, Director of Admin (now Deputy Executive Director), Barbara Curtis, Deputy Executive Director, Cameron Simpson, Executive Director and David Kowald, Immediate Past President and Sydney Surf Lifesaver of the Year.

In addition to electing the board, the AGM also recognised two of our outstanding members with life membership. They were:

  • David Kowald
  • Andrew McKellar

David Kowald, Elouera SLSC Life Member, receiving congratulations from current Elouera SLSC Life Members at the recent AGM.

Andrew McKellar, Elouera SLSC Life Member, receiving congratulations from current Elouera SLSC Life Members at the recent AGM.

Both David and Andrew have outstanding surf lifesaving records with decades of experience with the club in all aspects, including active patrolling, elected officers, training and committee members. They are most deserving of becoming our most recent life members.

Members and Officers

Board members:

  • Executive Director: Cameron Simpson
  • Deputy Executive Director: Alyson Scott
  • Director of Administration: Merivale Nesbitt
  • Director of Finance: Andrew Watson
  • Director of Life Saving: Andrew McKellar
  • Director of Education: Stephen Urquhart
  • Director of Marketing: Tim Benson
  • Director of Major Events: Lauren Thomas
  • Director of Surf Sports: Dean Morris
  • Deputy Director of Surf Sports: Isaac Byrne
  • Director of Youth: Sam Merchant
  • Director of Junior Development: Joshua Nicholson
  • Deputy Director of Lifesaving & Education: Rebecca Thackray
  • Deputy Director of Administration: Ron Hegarty


  • Boat Captain: Merivale Nesbitt
  • Board Captain: Isaac Byrne
  • Ski Captain: Nathan Neale
  • Masters Captain: Peter Green
  • Race Secretary: Steve Mead
  • Child Protection Officer: Kiara Summers
  • Member Protection Officer: Danielle Polson
  • Hon Legal Officer: Ben Harris
  • Occupational Health & Safety Officer - Cameron Simpson
  • Complaints Manager - Michael Wirth
  • Silver Salties Co-Ordinator - Jill Cameron
  • IRB Captain: VACANT
  • Swim Captain: VACANT
  • Beach Captain: VACANT
  • Lifesaving Equipment Officer: VACANT
  • Lifesaving Competition Captain: VACANT
  • Welfare Officer: VACANT
  • Hon Medical Officer: VACANT
  • Judiciary Committee: 5 VACANT POSITIONS

Eligible members interested in nominating for one of the vacant club officer positions should email Merivale Nesbitt, Director of Administration on

Marketing and Sponsorship

As a newly elected Board Member, Director of Marketing and member of Patrol 5, I’m super keen to hear from members about news you would like promoted within the club and also things you would like to hear more (or less) about. I’d also like to invite you to get involved in media, marketing and sponsorship of the club.

So please contact me, Tim Benson, at with your thoughts, ideas, offers of sponsorship or skills and services you may be able to assist with (such as sponsorship, writing, photography, videography, graphic design, social media etc).

Tim Benson MAICD, Elouera SLSC Board Member and Director of Marketing.

Elouera Club Of The Year

AGM Results - Your Elouera Team For 2023 – 2024